Forgivenss: The key to freedom

Hi everyone, I thought I’d share with you a dream I had a few weeks ago that seems to be on my mind almost every day now. I cannot seem to shake it out of my mind as every time I am out somewhere I am shown “glimpses“ of how Gods act of forgiveness is so powerful. And because of this I realize that forgiveness and Jesus’ act of defeating death at the cross go hand in hand. That’s why I came up with this phrase: forgive so that you may not fear death. Let’s face it, a lot of us fear death because we fear that we may have done something that we did not ask forgiveness for (am I right?)

That is why Easter is the ultimate forgiveness story. Because of Christ dying at the cross we have forgiveness. But I also learned something else in my dream, that you can tell someone by how that handle power…or a position of power. How is this significant you ask? Well, let me just tell you my dream (I hope I can tell it right and not mess it up).

So in my dream I am a very successful business person, always on top of everything I am doing. One this particular day I am walking into my office building, like any regular-ordinary employee (coz that how I role). I step on the elevator, and in there are a few guys talking about the opportunity they have of meeting the boss (me) about a project that they were selling. In the conversation I gather that the project was a go, and all they had to do was sign a few papers and they will get a big fat check (yeyi)! I didn’t pay too much attention to them but I made a note of it.

Now I was carry something in my hands that was fragile, and as we got to my floor these guys pushed me aside as we got off the elevator and this made me drop my package. To make it worse, they were shouted obscenities at me and they trampled all over my package and walked off laughing. I was angry.

Later, I am in my office on the phone telling my wife (Viv) about what a bad day I was having. At that moment I got notice from my secretary that my next appointment was ready. So I asked for her to show them through.

As I hang up the phone from specking with my wife, I was shocked at who had just walked into my office. My smile left my face and anger started to build up in me again at the sight of these guys who had been so rude earlier. They took one long look at me and you could see on their faces that they are in shock, and scared. Then one of the guys (the leader I think) came close to me and got on his knees. With tears in his eyes he begged me for forgiveness. At this point two things (or three, not sure…anyway) happened? You I knew why that were her and I had that big fat Cheque they wanted, and now I had the power. I was going to make them pay. I was going to crush their dreams. Then, everything froze. Time stood still. And that’s when the two or three things happened.

One, in my mind I threw them out and told them they will never have the money promised, because they were so rude to me. Two, I saw how they would feel and how I felt serving them justice (yeah in your face fellers). And three, (for those keeping count) I was shown how God sees us when we sin. How, He wants to throw us in hell to burn and suffer. I was shown how we come before Him begging for him to forgive us.

I think I got just a glimpse of how Christ saw us when he came to earth. It got me to understand that I was in a unique position. A unique and great learning opportunity.emotional-freedome-forgiveness-dr-diva-verdun

A everything stood still, begun to realized that I was also in a powerful position that could affect others’ lives and outcomes. I had the ability to destroy and crush these guys. Then I was shown that, as someone in that powerful position I had the ultimate choice of forgiving. I had the opportunity to be the bigger person and forgive. But, then I thought, what a minute, what if I forgive these guys and they do this again? They would get the money and tell people that even after they insulted me and damaged my package (still cannot remember what it was..arrrg) they would tell their friend that I was a pushover. Then I realized that, even I go to Christ for forgiveness and He knows that I will mess up again. But still He forgives.

So I let the guys know that I had no ill will toward them and we had our meeting. The lesson here for me was that, Jesus had the power to destroy those who hurt Him, lied to Him, tried to stone Him, crucified Him; He had the power to end them all. But He showed me how we should act even when we are able to punish those who offend us. Forgiveness. It’s a big deal. And His death is the biggest example of forgiveness if they ever was one.

So I challenge you, is there anyone you have not forgiven for something they did to you? I think that when Jesus forgives His executors and dies for them on the cross, you should be able to forgive grandma, Tom, Sarah for whatever they did.

And if they do not care, well then as it say somewhere in the Proverbs 25: 21-22;

21If your enemy is hungry, give him food to eat; And if he is thirsty, give him water to drink; 22For you will heap burning coals on his head, And the LORD will reward you.

So I would like to end with the words spoken to a certain web swinging mutant man: “…with great power there must also come — great responsibility!”.quote-anger-makes-you-smaller-while-forgiveness-forces-you-to-grow-beyond-what-you-are

Leave a Reply

